Top Ten Classics I Want to Read

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.


Top Ten Classics I Want to Read

I’m not a huge reader of the classics, but I would like to read more of them. The few that I’ve read, I’ve really enjoyed, so I can’t wait to read more! Here are my picks in no particular order…

  1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – I’ve been meaning to read this one FOREVER, and even more after the movie came out (I didn’t see it because I wanted to read the book first).
  2. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens – Some of my friends read this for English class this year and enjoyed it so I want to see what it’s all about.
  3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I have not read ONE Jane Austen book. *blushes* I really need to. I decided I want to start with this one and work my way through her books. I’ve heard their lighter classics, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to read them a little quicker than the norm.
  4. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen – *blushes even more*
  5. Emma by Jane Austen
  6. Persuasion by Jane Austen
  7. The Ladies’ Paradise by Émile Zola – I first heard about this from Ellen @ astridthebookworm on YouTube and then I heard this was also a TV show. I think the whole idea for the book sounds really good so I’m definitely excited for this one!
  8. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde – This sounds like a legitimately creepy classic. I’m very intrigued about Mr. Dorian Gray, that’s for sure. (And after I read it I’m totally planning to watch the movie because it stars Ben Barnes *sighs and gazes off into the distance*)
  9. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë – I started this one shortly after I read Jane Eyre, which gave me a horrible book hangover, so I never finished. I must read this in full sometime because I’ve heard it’s another more young adult classic.
  10. Villette by Charlotte Brontë – Jane Eyre might be my favorite classic that I’ve ever read as of yet. I absolutely loved it and I couldn’t stop reading it, which is strange for me and classics. So, when I heard about this one by Ms Brontë I quickly added it to my TBR!

What classics are on your TBR? Have you read any of the ones I’ve mentioned above? What did you think? I’d love to hear from you!

xo, emily

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Classics I Want to Read

  1. The Great Gatsby made my list too, and I haven’t seen the movie either cuz, you know, you read the book first?! There’s a couple on here that aren’t on my Top Ten list, but they’re part of my Classics Club Challenge… I’m sure I’ll read them all, some day…

    My TTT

  2. The great gatsby; I’m also interested in that one, although I think I will see the movie first. I recently read Emma. Wasn’t blown away by it, but I can’t wait to finally read Pride and Prejudice. The picture of Dorian Gray & Jane Eyre are also two books I want to finish once.

    Mel@thedailyprophecy

  3. OMG. You’ve never read any of Jane Austen’s books??! Lucky you! 😀 (haha, kidding. I actually only read Pride and Prejudice but I really didn’t like the book, basically because we had to read it in school.) And you should TOTALLY read The Picture of Dorian Gray or any other works written by Oscar Wilde. He’s like one of the most awesome writers of all time.

  4. Oh my word. I’ve read all of these (well, except Emma, that’s on my TBR, too). They’re all such wonderful books! I can’t wait to see what you think of them! Warning on Zola: the TV show is loosely based on the novel, but it’s still just as beautiful and mesmerizing!

    My TTT

  5. Good idea to change the list into classics you want to read.

    Here’s my TBR Classics list. The only book we have in common is the Portrait of Dorian Gray, but I haven’t read any of the books on your list either.

    Fahrenheit 451
    The Count of Monte Cristo
    1984
    2001 a Space Odyssey
    Dracula
    Doctor Jekyll and Mr Hyde
    Frankenstein
    The Portrait of Dorian Gray

  6. If you can help it, I think it’s best to avoid The Great Gatsby movie altogether, but the book is wonderful and I’m in love with all of Jane Austen’s novels. Great list this week.
    My TTT

    1. I think I’m up for that too ^^^ Is it just me or does it take longer to read a classic? At least the first time around? I was planning on picking P&P up again anyways, so this way I can schedule it in…

      1. You`’re right. At least to me, reading a classic takes ages. I’ve owned a copy of great expectations for 2 years now and I’ve yet to even pick it up :/. Here’s join us, the group has a few members in it now so it will be fun to discuss it as we read it ^.^

  7. Sense & Sensibility is the only Jane Austen I’ve read so far, and that was only a few months ago! I really need to get on with reading them. 🙂 I totally forgot about The Ladies’ Paradise! I loved the first series of it on the telly, and the book does sound good.

  8. Great list! I definitely recommend The Great Gatsby, I read it for my senior english class and loved it. Also big yes for Jane Austen. I only read Pride and Prejudice which was awesome but I love watching bbc series on Persuasion and some others. Great list!

    1. Thank you, and I hope to read Gatsby soon since everyone always mentions it when the topic of classics comes up. And I really must read some Austen soon. I’m planning to pick up P&P in August. Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  9. Jane Eyre is the BEST, but I haven’t taken the time to check out any other books by Charlotte Bronte. Villette sounds quite interesting – hopefully I can get around to it one day! 🙂 Wonderful list!

  10. The only Jane Austen I haven’t read is Sense and Sensibility! But, if you have a kindle, they are all for free in the library because of public domain! Although, I can’t find S&S for free, which is why I haven’t read it yet. 🙂

  11. I haven’t read any of these! I’m not exactly the most well-versed in classics so that doesn’t surprise me at all. I did start Pride and Prejudice though because I wanted to watch the Lizzie Bennet Diaries and thought reading the source material might make my experience that much more enjoyable, but I never did end up watching LBD so I didn’t finish P&P either. I’m planning on finishing it this summer, seeing as it’s so influential!

  12. Jane Eyre is one of my favorites, too. 🙂 Rochester… *sigh*
    I really love Jane Austen. P&P and Persuasion are my two favorites of hers. I really hope you love her!
    The Great Gatsby – the writing is just gorgeous.
    Wuthering Heights – yeah, these characters are crazy and super messed up and there’s even a love triangle which I hate, but I couldn’t put this book down. It’s like a 19th century train wreck – you can’t look away!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

