Top [Five] Cover Trends I LIKE and [Five] I DISLIKE

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Cover Trends I LIKE and DISLIKE

Yay for more design themed posts!

Five Trends I LIKE:

 

1. Girls in pretty dresses. Covers with girls in pretty dresses are all over YA books, BUT I love them. Especially for books like The Selection series by Kiera Cass and Entwined by Heather Dixon, where dresses actually fit the books.

2. Minimalist covers. Sometimes less is more!

3.  Typography as the focus. I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again! Typography is just all kinds of wonderful. If a cover has a killer font, I’ll be sure to see what it’s about.

 

4. Paper cut-out looking covers. These aren’t seen as often as girls in dresses, but I’m seeing them more and more. The artists that design the art for these covers are amazing and their work is beautiful!

5. Monochromatic color schemes. I like it when covers stick to ONE color scheme. If there are too many colors it can be too confusing for the eyes. Some pull it off, but I’m loving covers like these.

Five Trends I DISLIKE:

1. Cheesiness. Anna and the French Kiss was on the verge of cheesy, but it was cute. There are some covers out there, though that make me wonder what that designer was thinking!

2. COVER CHANGES. Oh my goodness this irks me, particularly with the Gone series by Michael Grant. Story time! I bought all of the books in paperback and they all match and I’m very happy with how they look. Then it’s time for the paperback release of Light, the final book in the series, and BAM – cover change. It was only released in paperback with the new cover. In any other case I wouldn’t mind as much…but this was the last book in a 6-book series! Personally I like the new covers even better, so that adds to my rage. Haha.

What number are we on? Oh yes… 3. Shirtlessness of guys. Sure it’s nice to look at in the comfort of your own room…;) But I would be so embarrassed to purchase a book with a shirtless guy on the cover, let alone read it in front of my parents, grandparents, teachers, even friends! AWKWARD. (I don’t have anything against Abbi Glines I promise! Her covers were just asking for this, though!)

4. Intimate/Kissing covers. As I said in #3: AWKWARD!

5. Half of a face. So many covers have images of half of a face. Sometimes it works, but I don’t like it when the model is the main focus. It doesn’t let my imagination envision the character based on the author’s description.

So what do you like or dislike when it comes to covers?

xo, emily

28 thoughts on “Top [Five] Cover Trends I LIKE and [Five] I DISLIKE

  1. My OCD is annoyed by cover changes too! (No 3 dislikes)

    Yeah, I usually pass on shirtless guy books too, that usually means too much romance for me. (With the exception being Mortal Instruments, I eventually broke down and read it and I’m glad I did!)

      1. Yes, book one with topless Jace. I didn’t read it for a long time because of that, but I kept hearing such good thing about it I broke down and bought it. (For my kindle)

  2. OMG!! Shirtless guys and kissing on the cover! Yes! I too would be embarrassed to purchase these. They just feel dirty and cheesy and cheap, and it’s like, was the publisher even trying here? I mean leave a little of the book to the imagination, or I won’t even pick it up because you displayed all your goods on the cover.

  3. I feel like I have seen a lot of people say they like the girls in dresses. Not that I don’t think they are pretty because there are some I like, I just feel like so many covers have them and for the most part they are just girls thrown onto the covers with dresses, the original Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi pisses me off because the girl in the dress doesn’t really have anything to do with the story and I don’t think she ever wears a dress.

      1. I feel like at one point doesn’t Warner tell her to or has dresses for her and she doesn’t want to wear them. It is just so weird that they picked that cover for the book when it didn’t do anything to sell the book to me.

  4. Yes, I totally agree with the awkward shirtless men thing. I know I shouldn’t care about what other people think of the books I read, but I can’t help it! And a lot of the times the covers make the book seem more risqué than they actually are.

  5. I’m a sucker for a book with gorgeous text treatments!
    I like pretty dresses, but only if the cover fits the tone/plot of the story. I’m not a fan of the generic random-girl-in-dress covers. The Girl in the Steel Corset and the other books in the series have cool covers featuring both Victorian couture and steampunk elements.

  6. I didn’t even know they’d done that with the Michael Grant books! My local Tesco has all the books with plain black covers and just the title in a different colour – I ALWAYS look at them, but I’d heard they were middle grade-ish and for some reason I stayed clear (that, and 6 books?! Series binge would take forever!). I like the plain black ones, but that new one for book 6 is nice too (don’t like the previous two!), they could’ve at least released a match and then changed the whole series! Rude. R x

    1. You’re in the UK right? I’m in the US so I think they had different covers to begin with. Personally, I’ve always liked the UK covers better. I absolutely love the series, though. I don’t get a middle grade feel at all. They’re very dark and handle some darker themes. I actually binge read the first 3 in 3 days years ago. They are very fast reads if they’re your kind of book.

      1. Yep, UK. See my local Tesco has them in with the Children’s section, not YA (beside Jacqueline Wilson and Roald Dahl) so I think that’s where I got the middle grade idea from… I’m going to have to take a look at them! R x

  7. THIS ALL OF THIS. *points up and jumps around*

    Normally I’m against girls-in-ball-gowns, even if the covers are incredibly pretty. It’s usually because the gown doesn’t come into play. But, like the books you show, there are books where the gowns are important, almost KEY, to the story, in which case it’s good.

    Papercut and woodcut covers are gorgeous!! They’re simplistic yet intricate!

    I didn’t write a post, but I DID post an instagram photo: http://instagram.com/p/poM6iaOjrV/

    1. Oh, and your “cheesy” and “erotica” covers…totally agree. I work in a bookstore, and just having to touch them and rearrange the displays make me gag or blush.

  8. I wonder if it’d be more awkward to walk around with a cover of shirtless guys/near kissing poses or to carry around a book of 50-shades caliber LOL. To each their own I guess. But that does certainly sound crummy that Grant’s final novel came out with a nicer cover design and evidently different from the rest–hello empty wallet!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  9. Haha I totally agree with covers that feature girls in pretty dresses! They’re always too cute!
    You are so right about cover changes! They are the most redundant things! Have you seen the new covers for the Percy Jackson books?

    1. Yeah I have…I’m not really liking how they decided to go along the same route as Harry Potter and make the spines create one full picture. With Harry Potter I thought it was really original since I’d never seen it before, but with PJ it just seemed like copying…?

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

