Review: Some Fine Day by Kat Ross

Publisher: Strange Chemistry

Release Date: July 1, 2014

Pages: 384

Format: eARC

Source: Publisher via NetGalley

Series: N/A

Genre(s): Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic, Sci-fi

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Sixteen-year-old Jansin Nordqvist is on the verge of graduating from the black ops factory known as the Academy. She’s smart and deadly, and knows three things with absolute certainty:
1. When the world flooded and civilization retreated deep underground, there was no one left on the surface.
2. The only species to thrive there are the toads, a primate/amphibian hybrid with a serious mean streak.
3. There’s no place on Earth where you can hide from the hypercanes, continent-sized storms that have raged for decades.
Jansin has been lied to. On all counts.

Special thanks to Strange Chemistry and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy of the book for review!

I have very neutral feelings regarding Some Fine Day. I neither loved it nor hated it, and don’t have much to say for that reason.

The author immediately throws you into the story, with very little development that is needed and that I look for in a good post-apocalyptic sci-fi book. It moved a little too fast and felt a bit rushed. The background surrounding the world, characters, government, weather, etc. is very lacking and I would have liked to read more about it. Pretty much the only hints about the world “before” were from tidbits at the beginning of chapters.

As for the character’s relationships, they too felt rushed and lacked development. I think this was partially because of the pacing problems. It’s difficult to sense just how much time has elapsed between certain events.

The second half of the book gets better, though. I enjoyed the last hundred pages or so more than the first ones. The end is where you get to the heart of the story, with the most action, better reveals and altogether better storyline and writing.

The ending was left wide open, so I’m thinking there might be a sequel?! I really like the way the book ended, and I think that this book would be better if there is a sequel. I feel like it would give the author a chance to redeem herself by developing the history of the world more. World building is a huge part of post-apocalyptic and sci-fi books, so when it’s lacking it’s easily noticeable.

This may seem like a pretty negative review, but I did enjoy the book. It’s definitely not a favorite, but like I said in the beginning of my review, I was pretty neutral. The good parts helped to cancel out the bad and developmental issues leaving me feeling pretty “meh” about Some Fine Day.

EDIT: Since reading and reviewing this book it has been announced that Strange Chemistry, the YA imprint of Angry Robot Books is to be shut down and will not be publishing any more books. I am so sad and wish all of the authors affected by this the best. You can read the official announcement here.

14 thoughts on “Review: Some Fine Day by Kat Ross

  1. Strange Chemistry imprints have been a hit/miss for me. Rushed stories tend to get on my bad, rage-y side, haha! It kind of makes me sad when only the last couple of pages of a book are great, because if the first half or so is boring, the book could get DNFed by readers. ;( Not particularly interested in the synopsis for this one, so I probably won’t pick it up anytime soon.

    Awesome review, Emily!

    1. Thank you! And yes I agree. I was almost at the point of DNFing it, but then saw that A LOT of others had done that. I felt like I should read the whole thing through, but unfortunately completing it only helped a little.

  2. Sounds like a first time author to me, she had a good idea, but needs more experience. Thanks for the review, I don’t think I’ll check this book out. (Because it suffers from the same problems as my own writing, haha!)

  3. Aimee is exactly right – the first half was so boring and confusing that I ended up DNFing at 20%. I’m glad you were able to push through and enjoy the second half though! I guess it just wasn’t for me; I wasn’t in a patient mood that day anyway.

    I’m so sad to hear about Strange Chemistry; I’ve always been hit and miss with their books but there’s one series that I was really looking forward to reading the second book that now won’t be published. It’s such a shame for all those authors.

    1. I completely understand. Like I said in my comment back to Aimee, I was almost about to DNF it myself.

      As for Strange Chemistry, this is actually the first book I’ve read from the imprint. Even though my experience with this book wasn’t ideal, I’m sure there were some great books published by them. Sorry to hear that you won’t get to finish reading that series – maybe the author will get picked up by a different publisher or try and publish it independently. It really is such a shame. 😦

  4. I’m sorry this one wasn’t a hit for you! I’m not a fan of rushed stories i get angry with all the fastness and end up just DNFing the book so kudos to getting through it. It sucks this one wasn’t your type of read since the synopsis sounded promising enough 😦

  5. Why do authors feel like they can skip story building in sci-fi novels? It is practically a characteristic of sci-fi and fantasy novels alike, so it’s just like they’re asking to alienate readers when they don’t spend some time on it. I get that the past is the past, and they want to write about the action happening now; however, the reader won’t appreciate the importance of that action without some perspective. This is pretty much how I felt about These Broken Stars. Great idea, but poor execution.

    It is sad to hear about a publisher shutting down, though. It’s hard enough for authors to get their works out there as it is without having to worry if their publisher is going kaput.

      1. I think if I wrote a story I’d have the opposite problem. I’d probably write waaaay too much detail about my world and not enough about what was happening in it haha!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

