Top Ten Books to Put in Your Beach Bag

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

Top Ten Books to Put in Your Beach Bag

This week was a freebie and with summer fast approaching (where I’m from it’s already really warm!) I jumped at the chance to talk about summery books! All my picks I consider to be “beach” or “poolside” reads that I think are a must to pack in your bag when you’re headed to the beach!

13 Little Blue Envelopes1. 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

My first ever Maureen Johnson book that I ever read absolutely LOVED. Such a cute summer read you’ll be able to finish in one sitting at the beach!

2. The Summer series by Jenny Han

As you guys have probably seen from my previous posts and reviews, Jenny Han is pretty much my all time favorite contemporary author. This series introduced me to her writing and I ADORE it. Set on the beach, this series is the perfect pick to tag along with you for a day by the water.

3. Sleepaway Girls & Summer State of Mind by Jen Calonita

I read Sleepaway Girls a while ago now, but I remember it being such a fun and quick book to read. I was super excited when I found out Jen Calonita was writing a companion, Summer State of Mind, although I still have yet to read it.

Peaches

4. Peaches by Jodi Lynn Anderson

A little bit on the more serious side, but nothing too serious for the beach. I read this one super fast and Jodi Lynn Anderson’s writing is wonderful. I also own a copy of Tiger Lily, which I heard is going to make me cry all the tears I can make. I’ll definitely be reading that this summer but not on the beach!

Wake

5. The Watersong series by Amanda Hocking

All of Amanda Hocking’s books are fun and would be totally suitable for the beach, but I chose the Watersong series because it involves sirens! The dangerous, evil, and beautiful version of mermaids? I think yes!

To All the Boys I've Loved Before

6. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Yes, more Jenny Han…I’ve been talking about this book quite a lot lately on the blog! If you’re interested in knowing why I can’t stop talking about it you can read my review!

The Innocents

7. The Innocents by Lili Peloquin

When I first read the synopsis of We Were Liars (another great beach read, by the way) I immediately thought of this book. Although the stories ended up being really different. The Innocents is a mysterious book with lots of family drama and it’s set on a beach too!

Smart Girls Get What They Want

8. Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Stromeyer

Okay, so this one takes place during the school year, but don’t let that keep you from reading this during the summer! This is an adorable, witty book that will make you smile! (Also, a note on the cover: there has since been a cover change but I much prefer this one to the new one, so I just used this one instead! :P)

Burn for Burn

9. Burn for Burn by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian

Hey what do you know! More Jenny Han… Okay but seriously, this book is ADDICTIVE. You won’t want to stop reading it! A bit of a different choice for a beach read, but if you pick it up you won’t regret it!

10. The Distance Between Us & On the Fence by Kasie West

Oh my goodness guys!!! I LOVED The Distance Between Us when I read it on vacation last summer. You must read it! It’s probably one of the most adorable books I’ve ever read. AND if you like that one, On the Fence comes out this summer! I’m super excited to read it and I’m sure it’ll be just as wonderful and The Distance Between Us was!

Those were my picks for what you should have in your beach bag this summer! What are yours? Let me know in the comments!

xo, emily

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books to Put in Your Beach Bag

  1. I literally just finished reading The Distance Between Us a few minutes ago. It was SUPER adorable!! I’m definitely adding On the Fence to my TBR right now.

  2. I’ve seen so much Jenny Han and Kasie West on the Top Tens today! Do you know about Pandora’s Books and A Wonderland of Reading’s blogiversary event going on right now? They’re giving away TONS of stuff, and they alternate posts between the two blogs every day, but there’s pretty much always something to win–just a random, friendly heads up in case you weren’t aware;)

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

