Before I Blogged (#2) – Glimmerglass

Before I Blogged

Before I Blogged is a weekly feature inspired by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner in which I share a book that I read and loved before I started blogging!

Glimmerglass (Faeriewalker, #1) by Jenna Black

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Release Date: May 25, 2010

Synopsis from Goodreads:

It’s all she’s ever wanted to be, but it couldn’t be further from her grasp…

Dana Hathaway doesn’t know it yet, but she’s in big trouble. When her alcoholic mom shows up at her voice recital drunk, again, Dana decides she’s had enough and runs away to find her mysterious father in Avalon: the only place on Earth where the regular, everyday world and the captivating, magical world of Faerie intersect. But from the moment Dana sets foot in Avalon, everything goes wrong, for it turns out she isn’t just an ordinary teenage girl, she’s a Faeriewalker, a rare individual who can travel between both worlds, and the only person who can bring magic into the human world and technology into Faerie.

Dana finds herself tangled up in a cutthroat game of Fae politics. Someone’s trying to kill her, and everyone seems to want something from her, from her newfound friends and family to Ethan, the hot Fae guy Dana figures she’ll never have a chance with…until she does. Caught between two worlds, Dana isn’t sure where she’ll ever fit in and who can be trusted, not to mention if her world will ever be normal again.

From what I remember…

I believe that Glimmerglass was one of the first YA fantasy books that I’d ever read. For that reason, of course, it has stayed with me. I remember reading this book so fast and then going out and buying the second book in the series, Shadowspell, right away. This was the first series that I’d ever waited for the next book to be released. As you can see, I went through a lot of firsts with this series. Glimmerglass was my gateway book into young adult fantasy and I really enjoyed this entire series. It’s fun and entertaining – perfect for an introduction into the huge genre that YA fantasy has become!

I rated it: ♥♥♥♥

xo,

Emily

4 thoughts on “Before I Blogged (#2) – Glimmerglass

  1. Wait. So this is the cover of Glimmerglass? This comment might seem a little bit out of place, but have you actually read Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien? Because, the German edition of the book has got the VERY SAME cover of Glimmerglass!! Ok, I’ll stop freaking out now 🙂 In retrospect, I can totally relate to your situation. Was the same with City of Bones for me !

    1. Yes… Hmm that’s weird! I’ve heard of it happening before though. I’ve read Birthmarked but it had a different cover too. (These are the US editions I’m talking about by the way)! I’ll have to check out the German covers! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

