Top [Seven] Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

Top [Seven] Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

This was a particularly difficult topic for me as I’m pretty good at gaging what I’ll like and dislike when it comes to books, but I am one to finish a book even when I’m not enjoying it.  Here are some books that I almost stopped reading, but finished anyway!

  1. Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer – For me, a post-apocalyptic book should be anything but boring. But I was bored stiff reading this book. I was really close to putting it down, but the fact that I was going to be meeting the author soon made me finish. Still didn’t like it by the end, though.
  2. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – Yes, I was about to put this book down after only about 200 pages. I did, actually, but I came back to it, THANKFULLY. This is one of my all time favorite series now, so coming back to it was so worth it. I don’t know what would have happened if I never picked it back up, but man would I be missing out!
  3. Moonglass by Jessi Kirby – This was another book where I was just plain bored. Not much happened but it was short so I ended up finishing it.
  4. The Memory of After by Lenore Appelhans – I had really mixed feelings regarding this book, but I found it strange, and not in a good way. It dragged in a lot of places, I didn’t like the characters. It was just a really “meh” book for me.
  5. Beautiful Lies by Jessica Warman – This one started strong, but as I continued reading I began to lose interest more and more. Not that it wasn’t a well written book, but I think I was expecting a more fast-paced thriller kind of book, which is not what I got.
  6. Neptune’s Tears by Susan Waggoner – Ugh, I hated this book. It was just all over awful. The lack of pretty much everything made this book a pain to read. (I hope I’m not offending anyone here.) It was waaay too short to be a well-developed sci-fi book, but I finished it since I had a review copy.
  7. White Space by Ilsa J. Bick – I was wary to continue with this one because got pretty confused while reading. I enjoyed the book but I wasn’t sure I totally got what was happening 100% of the time because it was almost TOO fast-paced. I did finish it out though, and ended up enjoying it.
  8. BONUS: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien – Unfortunately, I didn’t get through this one, hence why it’s a BONUS. I know that I should have finished it and I SHOULD have LOVED it, but I just couldn’t get through the beginning. I really wanted to love it as much as everyone else but I just couldn’t. I know, I’m an awful person.

So, what books did you almost put down but end up finishing? Was it worth it? Let me know in the comments!

xo,

Emily

13 thoughts on “Top [Seven] Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

  1. I’m the same with the Hobbit, no worries. Same again with LOTR as well actually. I finished book 1 but not book 2. Tolkein’s writing just doesn’t seem to grip me like it does others…which is bad, esp since my dad is a huge Tolkien geek

  2. I’ve been thinking about A Game of Thrones because EVERYONE AND THEIR MOTHER has read them. I’m glad to hear it’s one of those happy endings where you almost put it down but didn’t and it turns out now they’re your favorite:)

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

