Review: Dirty Little Secret by Jennifer Echols

Publisher: MTV Books

Release Date: July 16, 2014

Pages: 288

Format: Paperback (April 22, 2014)

Source: Author

Series: N/A

Genre(s): Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Synopsis from Goodreads:

I was being given the chance to do the one thing I wanted most in the world. The chance was presented to me by a guy so gorgeous, he turned my skin to fire when he touched me. And joining a band was the one thing I was most forbidden to do, the thing that would ruin my future forever.

Eighteen-year-old Bailey has issues, and not just that she’s lying to her grandfather about playing fiddle in a Nashville bar. There’s how her younger sister Julie’s recording contract makes her family terrified that Bailey will mess the deal up. And why Bailey is acting out. And the way everyone seems mad at her, even Julie. Bailey’s parents don’t want her playing gigs at all, but when they leave her with her grandfather so they can tour with Julie, she lands a job playing old country songs in cheesy costumes at a local mall. That’s where she meets Sam. . . .

Sam doesn’t plan to spend his life playing backup at the mall for his alcoholic dad. He intends to take his high school garage band to the big time, and when he hears Bailey play, he knows she’s what he wants.

Bailey isn’t sure where she stands with this boy who has a lust for music and life, and who may or may not have a lust for her. And yet, suddenly, her life is no longer about what might have been, and a whole lot about what could be. . . .

Special thanks to Jennifer Echols for providing me with a copy of the book for review!

I want to start out my review with saying this: I’m not a music person. I’ve never played an instrument, never really listened to music other than when it plays on the radio in the car. But I am a HUGE Taylor Swift fan. That’s what drew me to this book. I saw a review that had called this book perfect for fans of Taylor Swift, and I was sold. I think the fact that even though I’m not a musical person and still really enjoyed Dirty Little Secret says a lot.

The book pretty much revolves around music, but not just playing it. How it’s there for the characters and how it became and is now a large part of their lives. I liked that about this book. There were other issues going on behind just the musical drama. Underlying family problems, identity issues, relationships, money, etc. It made the book a whole lot more realistic.

While I wasn’t a huge fan of Bailey, the main character, and her choices, I can see how she can be relatable to a lot of people. Fresh out of high school, unsure of what she’s going to do next. But also restricted by her parents and being out shined by her younger sister. Music is the only steady thing that she’s had and that’s been taken away from her. Throughout the book you see her learn to follow her heart and that things can somewhat work out in the end, even if it’s not how she first pictured.

Now of course I have to discuss the relationship between Bailey and Sam. Funny enough with the mention of T-Swift before, I had ‘I Knew You Were Trouble’ playing through my head whenever the Bailey/Sam relationship came up. That song should be their theme. However cliché their relationship was you have to admit that after reading you found their relationship a cute one, although intense at times. Not my favorite pairing that I’ve read, but they way their ending was written I was happy and accepted it.

Overall, Dirty Little Secret is great for musical and non-musical fans alike. It’s short and sweet, while not fluffy at all. Perfect for summer, Dirty Little Secret will make you want to crank up the country music and sing along!

P.S.

For your listening pleasure:

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

