Review: The Secret Diamond Sisters by Michelle Madow

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Release Date: February 25, 2014

Pages: 382

Format: Paperback

Source: Gifted

Series: The Secret Diamond Sisters, #1

Genre(s): Contemporary

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The three sisters grew up not knowing their father and not quite catching a break. But it looks like their luck is about to change when they find out the secret identity of their long-lost dad—a billionaire Las Vegas hotel owner who wants them to come live in a gorgeous penthouse hotel suite. Suddenly the Strip’s most exclusive clubs are all-access, and with an unlimited credit card each, it should be easier than ever to fit right in. But in a town full of secrets and illusion, fitting in is nothing compared to finding out the truth about their past.

my rambles

“What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas…but that doesn’t matter when you live there ;)”

I’ve got one word to describe The Secret Diamond Sisters – FUN! To me, reading this book was like watching a guilty pleasure reality show. There’s drama. There’s romance. There’s more drama. There’s boys. There’s even more drama.

Told from the three Diamond sisters’ point of views and Vegas girl Madison, with added bonuses from the “campusbuzz.com” forums you get all sides of the story. You also get to like some characters better than others. I’ll start with Savannah. For 15, she was really naïve, to the point where she acted almost annoyingly oblivious. Things I saw coming from a mile away she was shocked to learn, and I’m her age. Courtney, the middle sister was much more tolerable, and I came to really like her a lot. I related a lot to her through the entire book, with her studies and morals. Peyton, the eldest Diamond was another of my favorite characters. She’s edgy and takes chances which I really liked about her. I absolutely hated Madison. Basically all of her POV chapters were her thinking about the four, yes, FOUR guys she may possibly have feelings for. I just didn’t get her. But, with all that being said, I think the author wants us to feel this way toward these characters.

In the Q&A with Michelle Madow at the end of the book she talked about the second book in this series, Diamonds in the Rough, saying that she, “hope[s] you end up feeling completely differently about certain characters by the end.” That’s where I got the feeling that we were supposed to hate certain characters.

The story went by really fast, too. Mainly focusing on the girls’ love lives and their integration into the Vegas lifestyle, with Courtney trying to figure out what her family is hiding from them. I would have liked more sleuthing from the girls into their father’s past, but I’m hoping that will happen more in book 2.

With all that being said, The Secret Diamond Sisters was an entertaining read! I enjoyed spending time reading, eager to see what would happen next. With such a wide variety of characters the things that happen are crazy! But there were also moments that I really loved. Courtney and Brett’s relationship was one of them. They were a huge high point for me when reading this book. Brett was pretty much everything I’d want in a guy, and their romance made me smile.

All in all, The Secret Diamond Sisters was like reading a reality TV show. To me, that wasn’t such a bad thing. At the right time, I think people can really enjoy reading this book for fun! I’m interested to see what shenanigans the Diamond sisters get into next! Also, what’s the deal with their mysterious father?!

I also just want to comment on the cover, because OH MY GOODNESS I THINK IT’S GORGEOUS!

5

xo

One thought on “Review: The Secret Diamond Sisters by Michelle Madow

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

