Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Publisher: Poppy

Release Date: April 15, 2014

Pages: 352

Format: Hardcover

Source: Bought

Series: N/A

Genre(s): Contemporary Romance

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

Lucy and Owen’s relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and — finally — a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith’s new novel shows that the center of the world isn’t necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.

my rambles

Like all of Jennifer E. Smith’s books, I fell in love with the story before I even read the book. The concepts of her books are so wonderfully unrealistic. There’s probably a one-in-a-million chance that the situations that happen to her characters would happen to you or me. I totally wish they would though, because they always result with the most adorable and heartwarming romances. But, what I love so much about her books is that although someone might read the synopsis and roll their eyes thinking “that’s so cliché,” her book’s aren’t that way at all. The Geography of You and Me was no exception.

I picked this one up the day of it’s release date (I actually had to ask a bookseller to go get one from the back room because they hadn’t even stocked it yet), and I read the whole thing in one sitting. Something that’s very unusual for me. And then I fangirled over it on Twitter:

Although I read it ten days ago, I’m still finding it difficult to put all of my feelings into words because when I think about this book my brain pretty much just goes “CUTENESS! PERFECTION!”.

I absolutely loved this book. The Geography of You and Me takes you on a journey. It will give you faith in long-distance relationships, make you believe in fate, and want to travel to Europe! Possibly even make you want to take the elevator more often. If you’re in the mood for a day trip, but don’t want to get out of your pajamas, definitely pick up The Geography of You and Me!

9

And because she’s one of my all-time favorite contemporary authors, here are the other YA books by Jennifer E. Smith, who is just as sweet as her books are by the way!:

xo

 

One thought on “Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

