Review: The Falconer by Elizabeth May

15791085Publisher: Chronicle Books

Release Date: May 6, 2014 (US)

Pages: 336

Format: eARC

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

Series: The Falconer, #1

Genre(s): Historical Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Steampunk

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Heiress. Debutant. Murderer. A new generation of heroines has arrived.

Edinburgh, Scotland, 1844

Lady Aileana Kameron, the only daughter of the Marquess of Douglas, was destined for a life carefully planned around Edinburgh’s social events – right up until a faery killed her mother.

Now it’s the 1844 winter season and Aileana slaughters faeries in secret, in between the endless round of parties, tea and balls. Armed with modified percussion pistols and explosives, she sheds her aristocratic facade every night to go hunting. She’s determined to track down the faery who murdered her mother, and to destroy any who prey on humans in the city’s many dark alleyways.

But the balance between high society and her private war is a delicate one, and as the fae infiltrate the ballroom and Aileana’s father returns home, she has decisions to make. How much is she willing to lose – and just how far will Aileana go for revenge?

my rambles

Special thanks to Chronicle Books and Edelweiss for providing me with an advance copy of the book for review!

The Falconer was the first fantasy books that I’ve read in a long time, and it was a really strong start to what I can tell is going to be a wonderful fantasy/paranormal series!

Although many don’t like them, I absolutely love books dealing with the world of the fae. Based on the cover, you may think that this is a high fantasy novel, but I’d categorize it as more of a paranormal book. But, I did love how the author incorporated bits of steampunk and historical aspects into the storyline.

The characters and romance where somewhat stereotypical of a YA paranormal romance book, so I knocked off half a heart. I only knocked off half a heart though because the banter-turned-romance between the characters really made me swoon! Also, the pixie was a sarcastic little guy that had me chuckling!

There was a ton of action and BA fight scenes, which of course I loved! It was also quite comical hearing the main character discuss fighting in 1844 dresses and corsets!

Overall, The Falconer was a great start to a new fantasy/paranormal book! I can see lots of potential for the story, and I can’t wait to see where the author takes it!

8

xo

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

