Review: The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

18242896Publisher: Delacorte Press

Release Date: April 8, 2014

Pages: 288

Format: eARC

Source: Publisher via NetGalley

Series: N/A

Genre(s): Dystopian, Sci-fi, Romance

Synopsis from Goodreads:

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world … if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love.

This is the story of seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins. 

Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth. 

But everything changes when Prenna falls for Ethan Jarves. 

From Ann Brashares, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, The Here and Now is thrilling, exhilarating, haunting, and heartbreaking—and a must-read novel of the year.

My Rambles

Special thanks to Delacorte Press and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy of this book for review!

When I first heard about The Here and Now, I knew that I had to read it. The cover is gorgeous, the concept is intriguing. And plus, it’s Ann Brashares! Although I haven’t read any of her previous books, I’ve heard good things about them. But unfortunately, The Here and Now was lackluster.

The idea for this book is wonderful. I love the idea of traveling back in time to try and save the human population from what the world has become. That’s AWESOME. But there wasn’t much world-building or information about the future. I would have loved to have learned more about the diseases, the technology, selection process of those who got to travel back in time, etc. What we did learn about the technology was really cool and I’d have loved to be introduced to other fancy futuristic devices.

The romance was a part of the book that had a big role, too. It was cute but it was a romance that was meant to happen from the beginning. I could see it coming from the first page the two characters are mentioned together. It was cute, but I would have liked more development. It seemed to happen really fast.

Rereading my review up to here, it looks like I hated this book. That’s absolutely not the case. I consider myself a pretty hard-core sci-fi and dystopian lover, so when I go into a book of those genres I tend to be a little more critical. I feel like The Here and Now is a sci-fi/dystopian for readers who are either new to the genre, or who are okay with some lack of information.

Overall, The Here and Now was an entertaining read, but there were some plot holes that kept me from making this book a new favorite.

Rating: ♥♥♥

xo,

Emily

2 thoughts on “Review: The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

  1. I’m so disappointed in the reviews this is getting 😦 I love Ann Brashares and I bought this one hoping it would be as amazing as My Name is Memory (If you haven’t read that, ohmygoodness you have to!!). But so far every review I’ve read has been so-so 😦 I don’t think I’ll even read it now, I have so many more books to get to and I want them all to be great ones! 🙂

    1. Yeah, I’ve seen a lot of other so-so reviews as well. I own My Name is Memory so I’m glad to hear that’s a great one. Going into this one I knew that Ann Brashares was supposed to be an AMAZING author, but I was less excited to read other books by her after this. I’ll definitely make sure to read My Name is Memory, though since you loved it so much! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

