Review: Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

16069167Publisher: Scholastic Press

Release Date: February 25, 2014

Pages: 304

Format: ARC

Source: Publisher via Giveaway

Series: Fire & Flood, #1

Genre(s): Sci-fi

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother’s life—and her own. 

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can’t determine what’s wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She’s lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she’s helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It’s an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother’s illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there’s no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can’t trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

My Rambles

Special thanks to Scholastic Press for hosting this awesome giveaway!

I’ll start off by saying that I hate when people compare other young adult books to The Hunger Games. Just because it’s from the YA genre doesn’t mean it’s the same thing. But, while I was reading Fire & Flood I totally saw some parallels. Hunger Games fans, this one’s for you!

Everything about this book makes you want to call it a dystopian, but, when you read you’ll learn it’s set during modern times. This makes it ten times better for me in that it could happen to me, tomorrow.

It starts right into the action quickly after you begin reading.  It’s super fast-paced, and the chapters are pretty short which makes it a fast read, also! I love how the focus of the Brimstone Bleed race is to get a cure for someone sick in your family. While it’s hugely entertaining, it also showcases just how much you’ll do to save someone you love. There are tons of twists and turns and a group of characters that are entertaining and mysterious.

Tella, the main character isn’t your average heroine. She doesn’t start out rough and tough, but she really develops and learns her strengths throughout the story. The side characters are no less disappointing and I really hope we get to learn even more about them in the next book. Then of course there are the Pandoras. They are my favorite part of this book by far. Can I just have my own please?! I loved Tella’s interaction with and love she had for the creatures.

Although the romance was minimal, it wasn’t one were I couldn’t stop thinking about the relationship. Tella and Guy are cute, and I liked how it wasn’t insta-love, but for some reason I just wasn’t feeling it.

Romance, aside, I absolutely LOVED this book. Fire & Flood deserves to be on every sci-fi/dystopian lover’s shelf! It really got me thinking about how I would react if I was put in this situation where I could save someone I love. I can’t wait to read the next book and see where the race brings Tella and her friends next!

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

xo,

Emily

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

