Movie Review: Divergent

imageRelease Date: March 21, 2014

Director: Neil Burger

Main Actors: Shailene Woodley (Tris), Theo James (Four)

About the Movie:

In a future world where people are divided into distinct factions based on their personalities, Tris Prior is warned she is Divergent and will never fit into any one group. When she discovers a conspiracy to destroy all Divergents, she must find out what makes being Divergent so dangerous before it’s too late.

*All information and movie poster from Lionsgate’s Divergent Page.

My Rambles

This review will be completely spoiler free for those of you yet to read the book or see the film!

I want to start off by just saying that I didn’t reread Divergent before going to see the movie. I went into it with an open mind, knowing that if I reread it I would be over analytical and most likely come out of it disappointed.

I just want to say that I absolutely loved it! The material that was left out was minimal and it didn’t matter to me that much. The acting was phenomenal. My love for this movie just keeps on growing.

Okay, so into more detail.

Straight from the beginning when Tris introduces the factions, I loved the incorporation of the one large dominant faction symbols. So cool! I loved Veronica Roth’s cameo in the zip lining scene. There were great little bits of unexpected humor, and of course some steamy scenes!

Having only seen the film once, I wasn’t really watching it for review and book-comparison purposes, so  I don’t have much more to say except that it was a wonderful success!

If you’ve read and enjoyed Divergent, definitely go and see this one opening weekend!

Rating: ♥♥♥♥+.5

xo,

Emily

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

