Review: This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl with Lori and Wayne Earl

imagePublisher: Dutton Juvenile

Release Date: January 28, 2014

Pages: 431

Format: Hardcover

Source: Bought

Series: N/A

Genre(s): Non Fiction, Biography

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A collection of the journals, fiction, letters, and sketches of the late Esther Grace Earl, who passed away in 2010 at the age of 16. Photographs and essays by family and friends will help to tell Esther’s story along with an introduction by award-winning author John Green who dedicated his #1 bestselling novel The Fault in Our Stars to her.

My Rambles

When I first heard about this book I was unsure whether or not I was going to read it. I’m not a person that particularly enjoys sad books, which I thought this book was. Although the story could be viewed as tragic, the tone of This Star Won’t Go Out is more like inspirational and up-lifting.

The book includes excerpts from Esther’s journals, as well as posts from her parents, Wayne and Lori’s, blogs, and letters from siblings and friends, with of course and introduction by the amazing John Green.

I sat down at the store and started reading the introduction, and from that moment on I couldn’t stop. I read about a quarter of the book in one sitting. From reading the book, I can tell that Esther was not only a fighter against her cancer, but she was a fighter for the good of others. After reading I was left in awe of Esther’s amazing character, and also with me, wanting to be a better person.

This Star Won’t Go Out is a must-read for everyone, I think. Cancer and sad story-ness aside, it is a book that will warm your heart, and inspire you to do something during your life to help others. For Harry Potter lovers and nerdfighters this should be required reading, as it celebrates the heart and soul of what coming together as a group and doing good for others means.

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

xo,

Emily

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

